Skip to content

Help Wanted

January 3, 2014

Help-WantedPublic History Friends,

I need some advice. Through the serendipity of good friends and professional networks, I’m putting together a work plan for conducting oral histories with an retired businessman. I have two lines of questions:

(1) He’s willing to pay to have this done. What should I charge? I’ve already prepped him that most oral history work is on the front and back ends (research and transcription), so I don’t think he’ll be surprised at my time estimates.

(2) What Chicago area institutions (aside from CHM perhaps UIC) would be interested in storing and making available oral histories will deal with the history of business, labor, the environment, government regulation, Chicago, and the Midwest? I’m guessing that the gift of oral histories would potentially come with a cache of relevant papers and documents.

All thoughts on these matters will be appreciated. – TL

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

