Skip to content

Eliciting More Participation

November 15, 2010

I’m thinking about the perennial problem of how to get students to read the assigned materials. I wonder if I should reverse the usual learning-then-testing process? Perhaps I should give a difficult quiz every Monday that determines one’s participation grade for the term, and then another on Friday that determines thei…r quiz score? If I do this, it means I have to direct the discussion less in-between. Hmm… If I go the M-F quiz route, how do I construct each differently? Should Monday’s be about raw facts and memorization, and Friday’s about process—a quiz that reflects the discussion in between? – TL

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

