Skip to content

Indoctrinate U: Update And Thumbs Down

June 2, 2008

In May 2007, I posted here on a then-new documentary, Indoctrinate U.. I just received an e-mail about a “cleaned-up version” of the film that bleeps out salty language.

The update note caused me to look back at the reviews of the documentary. I unfortunately haven’t been able to see the film. When I made note of the film here, I had hoped it would spend a lot of time talking about academic freedom, in a balanced way—instead of left-right, Horowitzian professor politics. I mean, there are larger ways to think about the idea of “indoctrination.”

But according a number of reviews (here, here, here, and the slanted IMDB comments), I was wrong. That’s a shame. I’m not sorry for promoting a viewing of the film, but I wish the general conversation about academic freedom was a bit more rational and balanced. – TL

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

