Skip to content

Aside: A Different Kind of Historian

September 25, 2007

My youngest brother is more of an antiquarian than historian, but check out his pop culture restorative handiwork, circa a 1976 Australian Ford Falcon:

Yes, that ~is~ an exact replica of Mel Gibson’s Mad Max “Interceptor” car. Here’s another view:

More pictures are here.

Car restoration is a kind of Lacy family hobby. I’ve had a 1964 Chevrolet Malibu long in keeping. My dad restored a 1956 Chevrolet and a 1968 1/2 Ford Mustang. Mine is not as nice as my brother’s car (or my dad’s), but few automobiles receive my brother’s kind of tender loving care.

I realize this is only “history” in the way that Civil War re-enactments are history, but it’s fun anyway. We should use things like this to introduce our fellow citizens to joys of thinking in a broad fashion about their historical interests. – TL

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

